Joplin | Carthage | St. Louis

Free Consultation: (417) 623-0900

Missouri Car Accident

CALL NOWEMAIL NOW

Missouri Car Accident Specialists

A Missouri car accident can have devastating consequences for those involved. If you experience a Missouri car accident, call local emergency services and then speak to a personal injury attorney who can help you receive compensation for your injury and damages to your property.

Buchanan, Williams & O’Brien have been a trusted law firm serving Missourians for over 40 years.

  • Committed to always treating clients with courtesy & respect
  • Benefit from the unrivaled experience of our statewide team of lawyers
  • Trust the proven success we’ve delivered to clients for decades

Missouri Car Accident

Few experiences are more sudden and unexpected than a Missouri car accident. Unfortunately, they are also relatively common. These incidents potentially cause distress, pain, and financial hardship. In many states, including Missouri, accident liability is tricky to ascertain due to the “comparative liability” status.

If you are involved in a car accident in MO, a knowledgeable attorney, such as our personal injury lawyers in Joplin, who can provide expert advice and representation.

Missouri Car Accident Laws

If you have been involved in a Missouri car accident, laws that you should be aware of include the local statute of limitations. This is a state law that sets a strict time limit for your right to bring a lawsuit. In Missouri, the statute of limitations that applies to lawsuits on a vehicular accident partially depends on whether the episode caused an injury or death. The laws are similar for tractor-trailer accidents in Missouri.

According to Missouri Revised Statute section 516.120, anyone injured in a Missouri car accident must file their civil lawsuit within five years of the date of the crash. The deadline for filing a wrongful death claim due to car wreck can be reviewed at Missouri Revised Statutes section 537.100.

To further educate yourself regarding the laws surrounding a Missouri automobile accident, contact a Joplin attorney experienced in those matters.

Contact a Missouri Car Accident Lawyer

In fact, it’s a good idea to contact a Missouri car accident lawyer any time you have an accident even as benign as a fender-bender. Missouri Revised Statutes section 303.040 lays out the requirements for reporting a crash.

If you have an accident in a parking lot, you, as the owner/operator of a vehicle must report an accident with an uninsured driver any time someone has been killed or injured or where property damage of one individual is over $500. If you require help after a car wreck or are injured in a truck accident, contact a local lawyer for assistance.

Missouri Accidents Litigation

Although each case is different, the process for Missouri accidents litigation is complicated. For example, issues such as alcohol involvement, driving at high rates of speed, texting while driving, etc. will probably incur criminal charges. These causes might lead to vehicular manslaughter, involuntary manslaughter, or even murder. In fact, a lawsuit may be filed even if criminal charges are dropped. If you are accused of being the cause of a Missouri car accident, retaining a local attorney can make all the difference.

MO Traffic Accidents Reimbursement

If you are the victim of a MO traffic accident, you may be relieved to learn that Missouri does not impose a limit on the amount that you can litigate for. This amount can include repairs to your vehicle, medical costs for emotional distress, pain and suffering, a rental vehicle, and if required replacement costs for your vehicle.

We are trial attorneys who are not afraid of car accident litigation in Missouri. 

Car Accident Missouri Causes

Although there are many car accident Missouri causes, of all of the those in 2012, nearly 1,060 individuals weren’t wearing their seat belts. This means that almost 50% of those deaths might have been avoided. The others include the following:

  • 688 include the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • 447 included unlicensed drivers
  • 261 included texting or distracted driving

The Missouri State Highway Patrol keeps up to date records of Missouri car accidents on their site here

More recently, the State shared data that showed 923 people were killed in Missouri in 2017 due to motor vehicle crashes. There were also 57,270 non-fatal auto injuries in the same period in the Show-Me State. 

Inattentive Driving in Missouri 

Distracted or inattentive driving is a risky but common habit among teen drivers especially. The Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration is dedicated to educating teens and guardians about the risks of not paying attention while driving.

Generally speaking, inattentive driving is the failure to pay appropriate attention to the road when operating a motor vehicle. This offense is governed by state laws, so there are different rules depending on your location.

Some activities that fall under inattentive driving include speaking, eating, putting on makeup, and attending to kids. Using cell phones or other electronic devices are another common form of inattentive driving.

Unlike most other states, Missouri does not have a law which prohibits “reckless” or inattentive driving. However, the state’s “careless and imprudent driving” law is similar. Under this law, drivers are required to:

  • drive in a “careful and prudent manner”
  • drive at a rate of speed so as not to endanger the person or property of another, and
  • “exercise the highest degree of care.”

Since the language of this law is rather general, it can be violated by almost any circumstance where a driver is exhibiting unsafe behavior, from driving while intoxicated to using your GPS while driving. The punishment for breaking this law depends on the circumstances.

 Like adults, Missouri teens’ inattentive driving may be due to DWI, eating or drinking, grooming, texting, and engaging with passengers in the car. A few of these actions look more benign than others, but all types of distracted driving are reckless, endanger lives and cost money.

In addition to the “careless and imprudent” driving law, there is other legislation aimed at curbing inattentive driving in Missouri. For instance, state law prohibits drivers 21 or younger from texting while driving. Breaking this traffic law carries a penalty of two points on your driving record and a fine of $200.

 There are also resources like the MO Eyes on the Road campaign, which shares information and preventative measures in hopes of curbing the number of vehicle accidents due to distracted driving.

Most inattentive driving situations in Missouri are considered “careless and imprudent” driving and are charged as a class B misdemeanor. Drivers will face a maximum of $1,000 in fines and six months in prison. If there is an automobile accident due to the inattentive driving, it will be considered a class A misdemeanor and a conviction carries a maximum $2,000 in fines and one year in prison. In either case, a breach of this law will add four points to your driving record.

 If you or a loved one is injured by someone’s inattentive driving, contact a Joplin attorney for assistance with your case. We can help you get the care and compensation you deserve.

Contacting a Car Accident Attorney Missouri

Many men and women live their lives without requiring the counsel of a car accident attorney in Missouri. However, reaching out to a lawyer is just one of the first things you need to do if you find yourself among the few who do.

Car accident liability is difficult to assess due to the comparative negligence legislation. This is one of the reasons why it’s important to get a Missouri accident lawyer who has expertise in preparing civil cases that involve managing mass tort litigation and injuries.

A skilled attorney can help you determine when to settle and when to sue, in addition to acting as your advocate in court. If you or a loved one has been in a car accident that has led to a serious injury or death, the office of BWO could help you win remuneration even if you’re partly at fault

Have you been a car accident victim in Missouri? We can help. 

Inattentive drivers can be found everywhere, but in some states, laws are aimed at solving or at least minimizing the issue. However, a January 2019 report positions Missouri near the bottom of all states for motorist safety laws. The Advocates for Auto and Highway Safety report ranks Missouri in a tie for third-worst, based on how many of 16 key safety laws each US state has in place.

The report found that Missouri lacks legislation regarding seat belt enforcement, open containers in vehicles, child seat laws, stronger Graduated Driver License program provisions, and text messaging limitations for all motorists (instead of just for those under 21 years of age).

Though not all of these laws fall under the umbrella of inattentive driving, the open container laws and texting while driving restrictions certainly do. As of spring 2019, action is being taken by a few Missouri legislators, and bills have been proposed to curtail inattentive drivers. The proposed laws would ban the use of mobile devices for all drivers.

Inattentive drivers have the power to hurt not just themselves, but anyone on and around Missouri’s roadways. Contact a local personal injury attorney for help if you have been involved in an inattentive driving accident.

Missouri Auto Insurance Laws

Missouri auto insurance laws require liability coverage that combines two types of bodily injury liability protection and property damage insurance. The former pays for injury to others in the event of an accident, while the other pays for damage to their property.

What to Do After a Missouri Auto Accident

Missouri auto accidents can be traumatic. You and your family may experience the death of a  stranger or even that of a loved one. When that occurs, it’s difficult to think clearly about the event.

Regardless of how devastating the scenario, it’s vital that someone collects evidence. He or she should attempt to follow the paramedics. The info they provide could be necessary if the individual is seriously injured or dies. A local attorney can be essential in this situation. He or she can provide clarity in an otherwise confusing situation.

Consulting Missouri Auto Accident Attorneys

Since time is of the essence, the right Missouri auto accident attorneys will update their clients regularly so they can have prediction and an accurate assessment of the situation. With an understanding of local accident legislation, an experienced attorney understands when to sue and when to settle.

Confused about Missouri auto insurance laws after an accident? We are here to answer your questions.

St Louis Car Accident Attorney

A St. Louis car accident attorney can provide guidance and proficient representation when needed. After an accident, people often allow anger, guilt, or confusion to cloud their judgment and even prevent them from filing a lawsuit. Consulting with a lawyer and perhaps taking the case to court can ensure that you’re able to recover the cost of any lost living expenditures and medical and vehicle bills.

Car Accident Attorney St Louis Info

Choosing a seasoned car accident attorney St. Louis like BWO will ensure you are supplied with adequate information and the most current legal advice. The right lawyer will be able to accurately determine who is responsible, work with insurance providers, and produce an optimal strategy for an effective settlement.

Speak with an experienced St. Louis car accident attorney today. 

Missouri Auto Accidents

A Missouri auto accidents lawyer will help you gather the facts and all of the pertinent documents, such as Missouri police reports and the other driver’s insurance information after your incident. He or she will interview the authorities and witnesses at the scene of the accident, take pictures, and collect evidence so you can file an insurance claim.

Missouri No Fault State Car Accident

Since Missouri uses a no-fault state car accident system, each accident is addressed as a pure relative fault. This means that insurance companies award money based on what percent of the fault it is determined that each motorist carries. So if one driver is deemed as 10-percent at fault in a wreck, he or she is required to carry 10-percent of the financial liability.

Unlike no-fault insurance states, Missouri residents who are hurt in car accidents have a vast range of alternatives available for reporting the accident and receiving reimbursement to cover any physical, financial, and psychological losses. If you have suffered harm in an automobile crash in Missouri you can do any of the following:

  • File a claim with your insurance company
  • File a claim with the at-fault motorist’s insurer
  • File a personal injury lawsuit against the other driver

Determining fault from a Missouri car accident is not always easy. To better protect yourself after a Missouri car accident, contact a local attorney for advice and legal representation.

Get expert help (and what you deserve) after a Missouri car accident. 

We can help! FREE Personal Injury and Work Comp Consultations.

Contact Us

Carthage Office

Fax

(417) 781-9706

This website is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely on advertisements.
Personal injury and worker's compensation consultations are always free. There is a small consultation fee for criminal law, traffic, and family law cases.

© 2019 Buchanan Williams & O'Brien, P.C.

Share This